Colleagues, Friends, and the like

“Forget it…It’ll never work”-Roxie

“Why not?”-Velma

“‘Cause I hate you.”-Roxie

“There’s only one business in the world where that’s no problem at all.”-Velma

 

This conversation takes place between Roxie Hart and Velma Kelly at the end of “Chicago.” The two are discussing working together on a Vaudeville show, but Roxie attempts to shoot the idea down. Velma insists that their disdain for one another is a non-factor in the world of show business.

I agree with this statement whole-heartedly, and have seen it firsthand onstage. Oft, my fellow performers I dislike most are those I cooperate with best onstage. Even though as of late I’ve had a hard time seeing this in UMHB performances, I have worked with performers in the past that I would not consider my friends, yet I had no problem interacting with them in a show.

Both recently and in the past, there have been those performers whom I consider friends with whom I prefer not to act with. My senior year of high school I had a scene in a show with one of my best friends, but they couldn’t get it right ever.

Performers I don’t care for much are often some of my favorites to collaborate with. My final two years of high school shows, I wasn’t terribly friendly with most of the leading cast, yet those are the shows I had the most incredible time doing in my four years.

The simple fact is that there often needs to be a line drawn between friends and fellow performers. There are those few close friends who I’d act opposite any day at anytime, but at the same time people who I dislike who are also a joy to work with. On the other hand, many of my friends in the performing world are not those I would choose to work with me in a show. Sometimes working with strictly colleagues is more rewarding.

Lalala

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colleagues, Friends, and the like

  1. Roxanne B. says:

    Matthew, I do agree. As a performer, there were often times when, even though I very much loved the person I was working with, they were frustrating as a colleague because they weren’t listening or weren’t comprehending. It is a wise statement that friends don’t always make the best colleagues and I think it is a good lesson to learn before jumping into the professional world.

  2. Great post, Matt! I’ve never even thought about that! As an audience member, I never think about whether the actors onstage are friends with each other or not. I assume you may not be the only performer who feels this way. I feel like sharing the stage with a close friend could sometimes become a distraction. Some friendly competition with an unfriendly colleague may be a great attribute to the show!

Leave a comment