Writer’s Block

I can’t seem to come up with a satisfactory topic for this blog, and that has sparked an idea in my brain. I will write about writer’s block!!

Lately, I have been writing music as a creative outlet, but I always begin songs and leave them to sit because I can’t seem elaborate upon the small idea in my head. I sit down at the computer and just get stuck.

I have some songs that I’ve written all of the music to, some songs that only a small line has been written for, and then some songs that are only tiny blueprints in my head.

When writing, I try to draw from personal experience, but then somehow the songs all end up sounding sad. I don’t particularly mind writing sad songs, but I do mind that sometimes that’s all I’m capable of writing.  Once a song I produce ends up sounding sad, I just stop writing. It almost feels impossible to write happy, upbeat music. This makes me sound terribly depressed, but in all honesty I think I might just naturally lean towards writing melancholy songs.

Some of my incomplete songs are the result of interruption of my creative process. I just get bogged down with little responsibilities that prevent me from putting my immediate thoughts onto the staff.

I’m not saying that I’ve never completed a song; I’ve completed quite a few lately. I’m honestly just saying I wish my musical output was a bit larger. I wish I had the time and complete ability to create music that reflects my life.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writer’s Block

  1. mlovetosing says:

    So glad that I’m not the only one whose music tends towards sounding like a funeral dirge, when I was meaning for it to be happy sounding! Yeah, I think sometimes everyday life gets in the way of our creativity, and we have to be purposeful and make time to take a break from the busyness around us and do something creative every once in awhile.

  2. Roxanne B. says:

    Matt, in my semi-professional opinion I think you may find writing sad music easier the same way that you find portraying a character with lots of secrets and shortcomings easier than a Disney prince(ss). Writing what seems sad or melancholy also seems deep and more mysterious whereas the happy seems forced and sometimes superficial because as you and I both know, life is much harder than it seems. Also, composing something more melancholy also can be more beautiful. It could touch more people because I feel the sad far outnumber the incessantly happy.

  3. Josh Albrecht says:

    Interesting. You seem like such a cheerful guy in general. It’s a bit surprising you only write the melancholy.

Leave a comment