Practical Usage

When I started writing this blog post I realized how much I have to do. I realized how music students have a significant amount of work to accomplish in a brief amount of time. A large portion of this work stems from applied lessons. Music for private lessons can be difficult to master, but utilizing music theory as a tool can help in the process. Breaking down each song measure by measure and analyzing the chordal structure of the piece gives the performer a deeper understanding of the material they are learning. I utilize Roman numeral analysis to determine the key for a certain section of a piece and that helps me to learn my music more thoroughly.

I my piano lesson recently I also used a chord flow chart in my head to mentally prepare myself to sightread music that I was unfamiliar with. I was surprised at how well I played a piece which I had not played before. I was able to think ahead and successfully play the whole piece.

Theory has also come in handy as a foundation for my songwriting. I know basic songwriting principles and utilize them to create beautiful music.

Yay theory!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Practical Usage

  1. lydiawest18 says:

    Matt,
    I really liked your example of using theory in the real world! Using theory to learn your applied music repertoire is so beneficial. When I get a new piece of music, I sit down and analyze the overall form and chord structure so that I have an idea of what is going on in the piece and how it should be played.
    P.S. I want to hear some of the songs you’ve written so I can analyze it deeply…. haha!!!!!!

  2. cbmajor7 says:

    Yay theory! Glad you’re practicing and sight-reading is smoother.

Leave a comment