The Show Must go on….

Every performer understands that there is no such thing as a perfect live performance. No matter how much you prepare, there will be slip-ups. Also understood is that the show must always move forward; it must go on. You cannot remedy the situation and rewind to fix your mistake. You just have to keep on going.

This past Friday, I was performing Pinocchio for the final time with Opera Cru. It was the final number in my first scene, and I am supposed to perform a few ballet style leaps and landings. On one of the final landings something went awry. I landed and my left leg was taken out from under me. I had dislocated my knee and began falling to the ground. I shook a little bit on the ground to get my knee back in place and a slew of thoughts flew through my brain.

“I could stop the show right now and get them to take me to the hospital”

“I could get up and walk off stage”

“I could just stay here on the ground”

etcetera

I knew that I had to play it off as meaning to fall. I decided to play dead, instead of finishing all of the choreographed movements. 

Nothing can stop a live performance, barring death.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Show Must go on….

  1. Katelyn Short says:

    Oh my goodness Matt!! I had no idea this had happened… You definitely played it off very well. It’s so true that the show must go on, and as actors, we have to be ready for whatever is thrown at us. I think it’s the same thing in life too. There will always be times when things happen to us that don’t make sense or are really unexpected, and we can’t just give up–we have to keep going. The show must go on!

Leave a comment