“The Last Resort”- MUSI1332 Blog Post #2

“The Last Resort” by The Eagles is a simply written song with more complex and deep lyrics. The chord progressions are simple during the verse (I-IV-V-I) but between verses there are more down and depressed chords. Using I chords and minor vi chords and even throwing in vi augmented chords to give a dissonant sound. The sounds, though major, all sound depressing and pensive. The chords used are primarily major but do not always sound so. This gives the song a sort of sound that indicates a loss of hope. Passing tones are used in the melody, and are perhaps the most striking.

But perhaps the most striking thing about the song is the lyrics and the deep meaning. The song seems to be a critique of the hopes and faith in the American Dream. People pack up all of their things and eventually in looking for a good time become burnt out. 

“And they call it paradise, I don’t know why.”

This lyric speaks volumes.

I’m not entirely sure of any implications of Christianity, while there are mentions of Jesus and God. I believe “Who will provide for the grand design?” could potentially be discussing God’s will.

“And you can see them there, 
On Sunday morning 
They stand up and sing about 
what it’s like up there 
They call it paradise 
I don’t know why 
You call someplace paradise, 
kiss it goodbye.”

I think this lyric discusses our mortality on earth, even though we make such permanent investments.

These are my intelligent thoughts.

mattymanchi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “The Last Resort”- MUSI1332 Blog Post #2

  1. Roxanne B. says:

    Your thoughts are so very intelligent. I must admit I am very impressed by your ability to hear all those fancy chords. It makes the piece a bit depressing to think about when combined with its sad lyrics. Wonderful as usual Matthew. (:

Leave a comment